#1 September 11, 2018 10:28am

David.livelsberger

Migrate BigTree CMS to new server

I have been tasked to migrate a website running Big Tree 4.0 RC2 on an Ubuntu server that is end of life. I have no documentation on the site. This is my first time reviewing BitTree CMS.
My plan is to migrate to CENTOS 7.5
I searched the BigTree website, but I can't find instructions for migrating to a new server. Can anybody point me to the right direction.
I also plan to upgrade to the latest BigTree version once I am on the new Centos 7.5 server.

Thank you in advance for your help.

#2 September 11, 2018 11:34am

David.livelsberger

Re: Migrate BigTree CMS to new server

Adding more information to my request.
Tim, I plan to migrate the contents of staging.<domain name>.org to staging2.<domain name>.org. I plan to use the exact same database, but create a new database user. I assume I will need to upate the DB connection string somewhere? Also, is the URL hard-coded in the database?

#3 September 12, 2018 8:25am

David.livelsberger

Update #2. I have migrated the database and the entire website to the new centos7 server. The database name has bee updated to reflect our naming conventions. DNS has been set. I get a 500 error when I go to the site which I think is caused because of the DB connection. Does anybody know what DB table or php file contains the MYSQL credentials?

#4 September 12, 2018 8:37am

timbuckingham
Administrator

500 Internal Server Error is usually caused by your server refusing a directive in the .htaccess file. The most common one I've found is the php_flag directives in /site/.htaccess that turn on short tag support. Try removing those but make sure your php.ini supports short tags!

The database credentials are I believe stored in /custom/environment.php but could be in /templates/config.php (I can't remember what version moved the config out of /templates).

#5 September 12, 2018 8:43am

David.livelsberger

Found it!